Tum pukar lo by Gulzar

Tum pukar lo, tumhara intezaar hai,
tum pukar lo.

Khwaab chun rahi hai raat, beqarar hai
Tumhara intezaar hai
Tum pukar lo

Honth pe liye hue dil ki baat hum
Jaagte rahenge aur kitni raat hum
Muqtasar si baat hai, tum se pyaar hai
Tumhara intezaar hai
Tum pukar lo

Dil bahal tho jaayega is khayal se
Haal mil gaya tumhara apne haal se
Raat ye qaraar ki beqarar hai
Tumhara intezaar hai

Tum pukar lo

Note: Translated by me. Any help is appreciated, please comment.

Connect with me, I am awaiting you,
Connect with me.

The night is choosing its’ dreams, it is restless
Awaiting you
Connect with me.

Carrying on my lips the thoughts of my heart
How many more nights will I stay awake?
It is a concise matter, I love you
Awaiting you
Connect with me.

My heart will be entertained with this thought
That at least our circumstances met
This night of rest is restless
Awaiting you

Connect with me

3 thoughts on “Tum pukar lo by Gulzar

  1. I do not understand Urdu or Hindi at all. However, I appreciate very much the translations of such awesome poetry as Gulzar’s. As I’m reading your translation and appreciating your effort, may I suggest the English words “connect with me” as translation for the words “tum pukar lo”. For me it seems what the feeling is that Gulzar is portraying. Dhanyavaad for your efforts!

    • Slavko, Gulzar is one of the toughest to translate. His poetry is so so subtle. Thanks for your suggestion, I agree with you, “connect with me” is a much better translation!

Leave a Reply

