Przegięcie by Piotr Sommer

Cykady całą noc mierzyły czas
a ja nie mogłem dobiec do snu.
Byłem spóźniony o trzy godziny,
potem o cztery, potem pięć.
Liczyłem, że czas się sam wyłączy,
pozwoli jakoś dojść do mety.
A jednak i przez wiatr słyszałem
jak niemiłosiernie stukał, dudnił,
to znaczy tykał bez miłości.
I wcale nie śpiąc śniłem, że się spieszę,
choć niby wiem, że pośpiech na nic.
Na nic się nie zda, na nic, na nic,
wołałem refren, jakbym grał staccato
lub własną nogą szarpał strunę skrzydła.
Wtedy odkryłem, że to ja czas mierzę,
pocieram przestrzeń, tykam od środka,
że zasnąłbym na dobre, gdybym przestał.

Note: Translated by the author himself.

Overdoing It

All night the cicadas measured time
and yet I couldn’t make it to sleep.
I was late by three hours,
then by four, then five.
I was hoping time would turn itself off,
allow me to somehow reach the finish line.
And yet even through the wind I heard
how mercilessly it thumped and banged
or actually: ticked on, lovelessly.
And without sleeping at all I dreamed
I was in a hurry, though I should know
a hurry is no use. No use, no use,
I was calling out the refrain, as if playing staccato
or with my own leg plucking the string, the wing.
Then I discovered I was the one keeping time,
rubbing against space, ticking from the inside,
and would sleep for good if I stopped.

Leave a Reply

