Recitation from Aastha by Gulzar

जिसे तुम भटकना कहती हो न, मानसी,
मैं उसे और जानने की तलाश कहता हूँ|
एक दूसरे को जानने की तलाश|
मैं इस ज़मीन पे भटकता हूँ कितनी सदियों से|
गिराह-ए-वक़्त से भटके लम्हा उसकी तरह|
वतन मिला, तो गली के लिए भटकता रहा,
गली में घर का निशाँ ढूंढता रहा बरसों|
तुम्हारी रूह में अब जिस्म में भटकता हूँ,
तुम ही से जन्मूँ तो शायद मुझे पनाह मिले|

Note: The English translation below is by myself.

What you call wandering, Manasi,
I call it a search to know more.
To know each other more.
I have been wandering this earth for so many centuries.
A lost moment from a knot of time, like that.
Found my Nation, then kept searching for my street,
Kept searching for a sign of home in the street for years.
Now I wander in your soul, in your body,
Maybe if I take birth from you, I will find refuge.

 

Leave a Reply

