I’m listening by Sophia de-Mello Breyner

I’m listening
But I don’t know
If what I hear is silence
Or God.

I’m listening
But I can’t tell
If I hear the plane of emptiness echoing
Or a keen consciousness
That at the ends of the universe
Deciphers and watches me.

I only know that I walk like someone
Who is beheld,
Beloved,
And known.

And because of this
I put into my every moment

Solemnity and risk.

Note: Following is the original in Portugese. If you know who translated the poem into English, please comment.

Escuto mas não sei
Se o que oiço é silêncio
Ou Deus

Escuto sem saber se estou ouvindo
O ressoar das planícies do vazio
Ou a consciência atenta
Que nos confins do universo
Me decifra e fita

Apenas sei que caminho como quem
É olhado amado e conhecido
E por isso em cada gesto ponho
Solenidade e risco

2 thoughts on “I’m listening by Sophia de-Mello Breyner”

  1. Escuto mas não sei
    Se o que oiço é silêncio
    Ou Deus

    Escuto sem saber se estou ouvindo
    O ressoar das planícies do vazio
    Ou a consciência atenta
    Que nos confins do universo
    Me decifra e fita

    Apenas sei que caminho como quem
    É olhado amado e conhecido
    E por isso em cada gesto ponho
    Solenidade e risco

    http://schabrieres.wordpress.com

Leave a comment